First Graded Post

In the first week of pottery class, I learned how to use the slab roller and how to mold as well as how to store clay and clean up after use. These art making techniques were applied through the creation of the bowls I made. We also learned how to make textures, how to smooth the lip of the bowl, and how to use plastic to keep the bowl from sticking to tools and molds. We were taught to not throw clay or let it fall on the floor because the dust may enter our lungs and stay there. We learned to use the scraper at the end of class to collect excess clay. Recently, I’ve learned how to create a pinch pot. This picture is of my first pinch pot.

IMG_20160822_091024 IMG_20160822_091642 IMG_20160822_091006

I’ve learned now through experience how to create more even walls with my thumb and how to add clay if needed(scoring and slip).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *