Second Graded Post

The whole idea of the bowl is to share and collaborate with the community. This idea was observed even in the very beginning of the bowl making process. When my partner and I were creating our bowl the first week of school, we each tried to experiment with different textures. Together, we decided that we fancied the rolling pattern and used that on the sides of the bowl. We took turns rolling and when we were done we agreed that there should be a stamp in the middle. We selected one we both liked and tested it. It was quite nice. After we molded and fired our bowls they were returned to us. our bowl had turned out very well and while my partner had left the classroom, I was still there to glaze the bowl. A wax coat was applied to the bottom because it is not supposed to get glazed.

img_20160912_091102

I chose a green color for the outside of the bowl and a yellow to cover it so it would appear lime green. I also applied yellow to the lip of the bowl. Next I coated the inside with two coats of blue and a coat of clear glaze. I chose these colors because they are almost opposites on the color wheel which means they will have high contrast, an important visual principal

.img_20160916_090851

I attempted to create a sort of textured style by painting the indentions in the bowl with blue while painting the rest with clear. Before the bowl was fired with the glaze it was very absorbent and dry and the colors were a pale matte color. Once fired, however, the colors became deeper, glossier shades and the bowl was no longer absorbent. Reflecting on the creation of the bowl is important because it will help me make future decisions for other projects, the closest time-wise being pinch pots. If I could change the bowl, I would have glazed the inside with a pink color before applying the blue textured glaze. I liked the way the bowls with the textured insides turned out and I will keep that in mind for the future.

img_20160916_085922

This was a wonderful idea for a project and when the bowl goes into the community for a good cause, I will feel glad that I decided on the terms that I did.

6 thoughts on “Second Graded Post

  • I like the texture of your bowl. How did you decide to smooth the bowl, when it was still in slab form or after you shaped it into the bowl form?

  • I love how you added the stamp into the center of the bowl. Did you run into an issues with the texture on the Inside, like small bits of clay around the design?

  • I love how you layered your colors of glaze to make a lime green. Did your glaze fire too thick? Did your texture on the inside cause any issues?

    • The glaze did not fire too thick in my opinion. I was happy with it. The texture did not cause many issues in the glazing or stamping process, but I wish it would have turned out differently. I did not like the opaqueness of the glaze.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *